Study Group: Fisheries and Ecosystem Responses to Recent Regime Shifts
  • Acronym: SG-FERRRS
  • Parent Committee: SB
  • Term: Oct. 2003 - Oct. 2004
  • Chair: Jacquelynne R. King (Canada)
Terms of Reference
  1. Examine the request from the United States on the potential effects of recent climate-ocean changes in the North Pacific on fisheries, and clarify what can be delivered by PICES;
  2. Gather appropriate information to respond to the request, develop a draft document for discussion, and develop plans for a workshop to be held in late June 2004 to discuss this document and to gather broader input;
  3. Conduct the workshop and provide a final written report by summer 2004, for review by PICES.

US request for scientific advice

PICES response and proposed approach
Products
Annual Meetings

Reports

2004

Session and Workshop Summaries

TBA

Symposia / Inter-sessional Workshops

TBA

PICES Press

TBA

PICES Scientific Reports
PICES Sci. Rep. No. 28, 2005
Report of the Study Group on “ Fisheries and Ecosystem Response to Recent Regime Shifts”
Primary Journals
TBA
Related Materials
TBA
Other Publications
SG-FERRRS Brochure, 2005
Members
Alexander S. Bychkov
PICES Secretariat
c/o Institute of Ocean Sciences, P.O. Box 6000
Sidney, BC
Canada V8L 4B2
Phone: (1-250) 363-6364
Fax: (1-250) 363-6827
E-mail: bychkov@pices.int
William R. Crawford
Fisheries & Oceans Canada
Institute of Ocean Sciences
P.O. Box 6000
Sidney, BC
Canada V8L 4B2
Phone: (1-250) 363-6369
Fax: 1+ (250) 363-6746
E-mail: CrawfordB@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Jacquelynne R. King
Fisheries & Oceans Canada
Pacific Biological Station
3190 Hammond Bay Road
Nanaimo, BC
Canada V9T 6N7
Phone: (1-250) 756-7176
Fax: (1-250) 756-7053
E-mail: KingJac@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca
David L. Mackas
Fisheries & Oceans Canada
Institute of Ocean Sciences
P.O. Box 6000
Sidney, BC
Canada V8L 4B2
Phone: (1-250) 363-6442
Fax: (1-250) 363-6390
E-mail: MackasD@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Gordon Alexander McFarlane Fisheries & Oceans Canada
Pacific Biological Station
3190 Hammond Bay Road Nanaimo, BC Canada, V9T6N7
Nanaimo, British Columbia
Canada V9T6N7
Phone: 250-756-7052
Fax: 250-756-7053
E-mail: mcfarlanes@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Skip McKinnell
PICES Secretariat
c/o Institute of Ocean Sciences, P.O. Box 6000
Sidney, BC
Canada V8L 4B2
Phone: (1-250) 363-6826
Fax: (1-250) 363-6827
E-mail: mckinnell@pices.int
Ian Perry
Fisheries & Oceans Canada
Pacific Biological Station
3190 Hammond Bay Road
Nanaimo, BC
Canada V9T 6N7
Phone: 1-250-756-7137
Fax: (1-250) 756-7053
E-mail: PerryI@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Jake Schweigert
Fisheries & Oceans
Pacific Biological Station
3190 Hammond Bay Road
Nanaimo, BC
Canada V9T 6N7
Phone: 250-756-7203
Fax: 250-756-7138
E-mail: schweigertj@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Akihiko Yatsu
Stock Assesemnt Division
National Research Institute of Fisheries Science
2-12-4 Fukuura, Kanazawa-ku
Yokohama, Kanagawa
Japan 236-8648
Phone: (81-45) 788-7633
Fax: (81-45) 788-5001
E-mail: yatsua@fra.affrc.go.jp
Qi-Sheng Tang
Yellow Sea Fisheries Research Institute, CAFS
106 Nanjing Road
Qingdao, Shandong
People's Republic of China 266071
Phone: (86-532) 582-2941
Fax: (86-532) 581-1514
E-mail: ysfri@public.qd.sd.cn
Jin-Ping Zhao
First Institute of Oceanography
State Oceanic Administration
No. 6 Xianxialin Road, Hi-Tech Park
Qingdao, Shandong
People's Republic of China 266061
Phone: (86-532) 889-9390
Fax: (86-532) 889-9390
E-mail: zhaojp@fio.org.cn
Suam Kim
Department of Marine Biology
Pukyong National University
599-1 Daeyeon 3-dong, Nam-gu
Pusan
Republic of Korea 608-737
Phone: (82-51) 620-6268
Fax: (82-51) 620-6268
E-mail: suamkim@pknu.ac.kr
Victor Lapko
Sakhalin Research Institute of Fisheries and Oceanography (SakhNIRO)
196 Komsomol St.
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk
Russia 693023
Phone: 7-(4242) 45-67-41
Fax: 7-(4242) 45-67-78
E-mail: lapko@sakhniro.ru
Harold P. Batchelder
College of Oceanic & Atmospheric Sciences
Oregon State University
104 Ocean Administration Building
Corvallis, OR
U.S.A. 97331-5503
Phone: (1-541) 737-4500
Fax: (1-541) 737-2062
E-mail: hbatchelder@coas.oregonstate.edu
Jennifer L Boldt
School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences
University of Washington
7600 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA
U.S.A. 98195
Phone: (206) 526-4693
E-mail: Jennifer.Boldt@noaa.gov
Anne B. Hollowed
National Marine Fisheries Service, NOAA
Alaska Fisheries Science Center
7600 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA
U.S.A. 98115-6349
Phone: (1-206) 526-4223
Fax: (1-206) 526-6723
E-mail: Anne.Hollowed@noaa.gov
Alec D. MacCall
National Marine Fisheries Service, NOAA
Santa Cruz Laboratory
110 Shaffer Road
Santa Cruz, CA
U.S.A. 95060
Phone: (1-831) 420-3950
Fax: (1-831) 420-3977
E-mail: Alec.MacCall@noaa.gov
Nathan J. Mantua
Department of Atmospheric Sciences, JISAO
University of Washington
Box 354235
Seattle, WA
U.S.A. 98107
Phone: (1-206) 616-5347
Fax: (1-206) 616-5775
E-mail: nmantua@u.washington.edu
James E. Overland
NOAA
Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory
7600 Sand Point Way NE
Seattle, WA
U.S.A. 98115
Phone: (1-206) 526-6795
Fax: (1-206) 526-6485
E-mail: James.E.Overland@noaa.gov
Jeffrey J. Polovina
National Marine Fisheries Service, NOAA
Pacific Islands Fisheries Science CenterHonolulu Laboratory
2570 Dole Street
Honolulu, HI
U.S.A. 96734
Phone: (1-808) 983-5390
Fax: (1-808) 943-2900
E-mail: Jeffrey.Polovina@noaa.gov
Franklin B. Schwing
NOAA NMFS SWFSC
Pacific Fisheries Environmental Lab
1352 Lighthouse Avenue
Pacific Grove, CA
U.S.A. 93950
Phone: 831-648-9034
Fax: 831-648-8440
E-mail: franklin.schwing@noaa.gov