Study Group: Joint PICES-NOWPAP Study Group on Scientific Cooperation in the North Pacific Ocean
Statement of Purpose:

The purpose of a joint PICES-NOWPAP Study Group on Scientific Cooperation in the North Pacific Ocean is to develop a framework of enhanced collaboration between the two organizations to serve as the basis for longer-term strategic planning.  The Study Group will review each organization's scientific needs, especially PICES' Strategic Plan and NOWPAP's Medium-Term Strategy, and identify where similar key questions or scientific issues might be explored jointly by both organizations.

Terms of Reference
  1. Review existing and planned scientific activities of each organization
  2. Develop a list potential areas of cooperation
  3. Convene a meeting/workshop for the following purposes
    • improve understanding of the science activities of each organization
    • review scientific topics from TOR (1) to identify areas of common interest
    • develop a framework for cooperation between NOWPAP and PICES that lists categories of joint activities and the rationale for each, including the benefits to each organization from the joint activity, and identify priorities for joint activities within categories
    • recommend processes for implementing TOR (3c)
    • recommend approaches to develop a strategic plan for cooperation and mechanisms to periodically update that plan
  4. Prepare a final Study Group report for distribution by the NOWPAP-PICES Secretariats by fall 2015.
Products
PICES-NOWPAP Framework

PICES-NOWPAP Framework for Scientific Cooperation in the North Pacific Ocean

Symposia / Inter-sessional Workshops

TBA

PICES Press

TBA

PICES Scientific Reports
TBA
Primary Journals
TBA
Related Materials
TBA
Other Publications
TBA
Members as of Oct. 2015
Dr. Jennifer L. Boldt
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Pacific Biological Station
Nanaimo, BC, Canada
E-mail: Jennifer.Boldt@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Mr. Chunwei Han
Northwest Pacific Action Plan (NOWPAP) DINRAC
Beijing, China
E-mail: han.chunwei@chinaaseanenv.org
Dr. Chuanlin Huo
Planning and Management Department
National Marine Environmental Monitoring Center (NMEMC), SOA
Dalian, China
E-mail: PM_CWTH@163.COM
Dr. Toru Suzuki
Marine Information Research Center
Japan Hydrographic Association
Tokyo, Japan
E-mail: suzuki@mirc.jha.jp
Dr. Seong-Gil Kang
Northwest Pacific Action Plan (NOWPAP) MERRAC
Daejeon, Korea
E-mail: kangsg@kriso.re.kr
Dr. Alexander V. Tkalin
NOWPAP Regional Coordinating Unit
UNEP
Toyama, Japan
E-mail: Alexander.Tkalin@nowpap.org
Dr. Takafumi Yoshida
NOWPAP CEARAC
Toyama, Japan
E-mail: yoshida@npec.or.jp
Dr. Alexander Bychkov
PICES Secretariat
Sidney, BC, Canada
E-mail: bychkov@pices.int
Dr. Thomas W. Therriault
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Pacific Biological Station
Nanaimo, BC, Canada
E-mail: Thomas.Therriault@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Dr. Anatoly N. Kachur
Pollution Monitoring Regional Activity Center
Northwest Pacific Action Plan (NOWPAP) POMRAC
Vladivostok, Russia
E-mail: kachur@tig.dvo.ru