Joint PICES-NPFC Study Group for Scientific Cooperation in the North Pacific Ocean
Statement of Purpose

The purpose of a joint PICES-NPFC Study Group for Scientific Cooperation of PICES and NPFC is to develop a framework of enhanced collaboration between the two organizations to achieve a greater understanding of pelagic ecosystem structure and variability, and its effect on the dynamics and production of fisheries target species, for sustainable use of high seas fish production. The Study Group will review each organization’s scientific needs and identify where similar key questions or scientific issues might be explored jointly by both organizations.

Terms of Reference
  1. Review the scientific interests and objectives of each organization;
  2. Identify potential areas and specific topics for scientific cooperation;
  3. Identify potential collaborative methods (such as representation at each other’s meetings, holding of joint workshops or symposia, development of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the organizations or other formal agreements, establishment of joint working groups);
  4. Clarify practical steps to advance the cooperative activities identified above;
  5. Provide advice on how information produced by PICES can be shared and applied in NPFC;
  6. Make a specific proposal to each organization for further consideration.
Products
Related Materials
ISC-PICES: ISC-PICES Framework for Scientific Cooperation in the North Pacific
PICES-NOWPAP: PICES-NOWPAP Framework for Scientific Cooperation in the North Pacific Ocean
NPAFC-PICES Study Group: Joint NPAFC-PICES Study Group on Scientific Cooperation in the North Pacific Ocean
PICES-ICES Study Group: Joint PICES/ICES Study Group on Developing a Framework for Scient ific Cooperation in Northern Hemisphere Science
News
Members
Mr. Robin M. Brown (Secretariat, SG-PICES-NPFC)
Executive Secretary
PICES Secretariat
9860 W. Saanich Rd., P.O. Box 6000
Sidney, BC
Canada V8L 4B2
(1-250) 363-6364
(1-250) 363-6827
robin.brown@pices.int
Mr. Eddy Kennedy (SG-PICES-NPFC)
SG-PICES-NPFC Co-Chair
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Pacific Biological Station
3190 Hammond Bay Rd.
Nanaimo, BC
Canada V9T 6N7
1-250-756-3360
Eddy.Kennedy@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Prof. Yong Chen (SG-PICES-NPFC)
Shanghai Ocean University
999 Shanghai Ring Rd., Pudong New District
Shanghai, China, PR 201306
phone
cheny@shou.edu.cn
Dr. Lisha Guan (SG-PICES-NPFC)
Yellow Sea Fisheries Research Institute
Room 1506 No.106 Nanjing Road
Qingdao, Shandong
China, PR 266071
86-18663994269
guanls@ysfri.ac.cn
Prof. Changan Xu (SG-PICES-NPFC)
Third Institute of Oceanography, SOA
178 Daxue Rd.
Xiamen, China, PR 361005
phone
xuchangan@tio.org.cn
Dr. Wei Yu (SG-PICES-NPFC)
Shanghai Ocean University
999 Shanghai Ring Rd., Pudong New District
Shanghai, China, PR 201306
phone
wyu@shou.edu.cn
Dr. Daisuke Hasegawa (POC, SG-PICES-NPFC, WG-38)
Tohoku National Fisheries Research Institute
Japan Fisheries Research and Education Agency
3-27-5 Shinhama-cho
Shiogama, Miyagi
Japan 985-0001
+81-22-365-9928
daisukeh@affrc.go.jp
Dr. Kazuaki Tadokoro (MONITOR, SG-PICES-NPFC, WG-35, WG-37)
Stock Productivity Section
Tohoku National Fisheries Research Institute, FRA
3-27-5 Shinhama-cho
Shiogama, Miyagi
Japan 985-0001
(81-22) 365-1191
(81-22) 367-1250
den@affrc.go.jp
Dr. Eunjung Kim (SG-PICES-NPFC, WG-35)
Distant Water fisheries Resources Research Division
National Institute of Fisheries Science (NIFS)
216 Haean-ro, Gijang-eup, Gijang-gun
Busan, Korea, R 619-705
(82-51) 720-2328
(82-51) 720-2337
eunjungkim@korea.kr
Dr. Todd Miller (SG-PICES-NPFC)
NOAA Fisheries, Alaska Fisheries Science Center
Ted Stevens Marine Research Institute
17109 Pt Lena Loop Rd.
Juneau, AK
U.S.A. 99801
1-907-789-6618
todd.miller@noaa.gov
Members named by NPFC
Toshihide Iwasaki
Tohoku National Fisheries Research Institute
25-259 Shimomekurakubo, Samemachi,
Hachinohe, Aomori
031-0841 Japan
+81-178-33-1500
tiwasaki@affrc.go.jp
Seok-Gwan Choi
National Institute of Fisheries Science
216 Gijang-Haeanro, Gijang-eup, Gijang-gun,
Busan 46083 Korea
+82-51-720-2320
sgchoi@korea.kr
Vladimir Kulik
SG-PICES-NPFC Co-Chair
Pacific Research Fisheries Center
4 Shevchenko Street,
Vladivostok, Russia, 690091
+7-999-057-9969
vladimir.kulik@tinro-center.ru
Tatiana Semenova
Pacific Research Fisheries Center
4 Shevchenko Street,
Vladivostok, Russia, 690091
+7-423-23-00-752
tatiana.semenova@tinro-center.ru
Chih-Hao Hsieh
National Taiwan University
No. 1, Sec. 4, Roosevelt Rd.,
Taipei 10617, Chinese Taipei
+886-2-3366-9745
chsieh@ntu.edu.tw
Kari Fenske
Ted Stephens Marine Research Institute
17109 Point Lena Loop Rd.
Juneau, AK 99801, USA
+1-907-789-6653
Kari.Fenske@noaa.gov
Aleksandr Zavolokin
NPFC Secretariat
Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology,
4-5-7 Konan Minato-ku,
Tokyo, 1088477, Japan
+81-3-5479-8717
azavolokin@npfc.int