Study Group: Revising the Strategic Plan
  • Acronym: SG-RSP
  • Parent Committee: GC
  • Term: Jan 2015 - Oct 2016
  • Chair: Laura Richards richards@pices.int
Terms of Reference
  1. Review the current PICES Strategic Plan, the FUTURE Implementation Plan, and Action Plans of PICES Committees;
  2. Review the strategic plans of other relevant international organizations such as ICES;
  3. Consider the views of Contracting Parties on the priorities for marine scientific research in the North Pacific Ocean over the next 5-10 years;
  4. Propose revisions to the PICES Strategic Plan (if necessary) in time for consideration by Council at PICES-2016.
Resource Materials and Links:

FUTURE Program
Please note that some aspects (especially organizational approach) of the Implementation Plan have been changed

Strategic and Action Plans

PICES
PICES Strategic Plan 2011-2016

Action Plans of PICES Committees/Expert Groups
Science Board [BIO, FIS, MEQ, MONITOR, POC, TCODE]

Strategic Plans of other Organizations
ICES [aspx, pdf]
IOC/WESTPAC
IPHC (no “strategic plan” as such)
NOWPAP (no “strategic plan” as such)
NPAFC (the Science Plan — NPAFC 1255)
NPFC (still in the “start up” phase)
NPRB  (no “strategic plan” as such)

Products
Annual Meetings

Reports

TBA

Session and Workshop Summaries

TBA

Symposia / Inter-sessional Workshops

TBA

PICES Press

TBA

PICES Scientific Reports
TBA
Primary Journals
TBA
Related Materials
TBA
Other Publications

PICES Strategic Plan 2011

Members as of October 2016
Robin M. Brown
Executive Secretary
PICES Secretariat
9860 W. Saanich Rd., P.O. Box 6000
Sidney, BC
Canada V8L 4B2
robin.brown@pices.int
Carmel Lowe
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Pacific Biological Station
3190 Hammond Bay Rd.
Nanaimo, BC
Canada V9T 6N7
carmel.lowe@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Laura Richards
c/o Institute of Ocean Sciences
PICES Secretariat
P.O. Box 6000
Sidney, BC
Canada V8L 4B2
richards@pices.int
Thomas W. Therriault
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Pacific Biological Station
3190 Hammond Bay Rd.
Nanaimo, BC
Canada V9T 6N7
Thomas.Therriault@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Fangli Qiao
First Institute of Oceanography, SOA
6 Xianxialing Rd., LaoShan District
Qingdao, Shandong
China, PR 266061
qiaofl@fio.org.cn
Hiroaki Saito
Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute
The University of Tokyo
5-1-5 Kashiwanoha
Kashiwa, Chiba
Japan 277-8564
hsaito@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Tokio Wada
Fisheries Research Agency
Queen's Tower B 15F
2-3-3 Minato Mirai, Nishi-ku
Yokohama, Japan 220-6115
wadat@affrc.go.jp
Chul Park
Department of Oceanography
Chungnam National University
99 Daehangro, Yuseong-gu
Daejeon, Korea, R 305-764
chulpark@cnu.ac.kr
Lev N. Bocharov
Pacific Scientific Research Fisheries Center (TINRO-Center)
4 Shevchenko Alley
Vladivostok, Primorsky Kray
Russia 690091
lev.bocharov@tinro-center.ru
John E. Stein
Northwest Fisheries Science Center (NWFSC), NMFS, NOAA
2725 Montlake Blvd. E
Seattle, WA
U.S.A. 98112-2097
John.E.Stein@noaa.gov