Study Group: External Review of PICES
Introduction
2021/A/10: External Review of the Organization
Council considered the need to commission a review of PICES to ensure that it is evolving in line with global marine science priorities and to give confidence to Contracting Parties that their resources are effectively used. Council agreed to form a Study Group (SG-External Review) comprising the Chair, Executive Secretary and one member from each Contracting Party to draft Terms of Reference for an external review of the Organization and provide them to Council.
News
Members
Dr. Sonia D. Batten (Secretariat, SG-ER, SG-PICES-APN, SG-SCPSC)
SG-PICES-APN Chair (PICES)
Executive Secretary
PICES Secretariat
9860 W. Saanich Rd., P.O. Box 6000
Sidney, BC
Canada V8L 4B2
(1-250) 363-6364
(1-250) 363-6827
sonia.batten@pices.int
Mr. Andrew Thomson (F&A, GC, SG-ER)
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
3190 Hammond Bay Rd.
Nanaimo, BC
Canada V9T 6N7
250-756-7177
Andrew.Thomson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Prof. Hiroaki Saito (AP-UNDOS, SG-ER)
Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute
The University of Tokyo
5-1-5 Kashiwanoha
Kashiwa, Chiba
Japan 277-8564
+81-4-7136-6360
hsaito@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Ms. Rui Zheng (SG-ER)
Department of International Cooperation
Ministry of Natural Resources (MNR)
1 Fuxingmenwai Ave.
Beijing, People's Republic of China 100860
(86-10) 6804-8072
(86-10) 6804-8080
zhengrui047@163.com
Dr. Se-Jong Ju (BIO, GC, SG-ER)
Global Ocean Research Center
Korea Institute of Ocean Science and Technology (KIOST)
385 Haeyang-ro, Yeongdo-gu
Busan, Republic of Korea 49111
(82-51) 664-3456
sjju@kiost.ac.kr
Dr. Igor I. Shevchenko (F&A, SB, SG-ER, TCODE)
SB Vice-Chair
Administration
Pacific branch of VNIRO (TINRO)
4 Shevchenko Alley
Vladivostok, Primorsky Kray
Russia 690950
(7-423) 2401663
(7-423) 2300752
igor.shevchenko@tinro-center.ru
Dr. Jack A. Barth (AP-NPCOOS, GC, MONITOR, SG-ER)
College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences (CEOAS)
Oregon State University
104 CEOAS Admin. Bldg.
Corvallis, OR
U.S.A. 97331-5503
(1-541) 737-1607
(1-541) 737-2064
jack.barth@oregonstate.edu
Prof. Enrique N. Curchitser (GC, SG-ER)
PICES Chair
Environmental Sciences
Rutgers University
14 College Farm Rd.
New Brunswick, NJ
U.S.A. 08901
(1-848) 932-7889
enrique@marine.rutgers.edu